Beach Soccer - Rio de Janeiro

The FIFA Beach Soccer World Cup is an international beach soccer competition contested by the national teams of the members of FIFA, the sport’s global governing body. The tournament has taken place every year since its establishment in 1995, when it was originally governed by Beach Soccer World Wide and was called Beach Soccer World Championship. Due to the sport’s rapid growth, FIFA has re-organised the competition to take place once every two years to allow continental tournaments to flourish without the burden of the world cup qualifiers, crowding the schedule. The current format of the tournament involves 16 teams competing for the title at one venue within the host nation over a period of about a week. During the 15 tournaments that have been held, only three nations have won, with Brazil dominating the world cup, winning 13 of the 15.