Womens Football

Prior to the FIFA’s 1991 establishment of the Women’s World Cup, several unofficial world tournaments took place in 1970s and 1980s, including the FIFA’s Women’s Invitation Tournament 1988, which was hosted in Taiwan. The first Women’s World Cup was held in the People’s Republic of China in November 1991, and was won by the USA. The third Cup, held in the United States in June-July 1999, drew worldwide television interest and a final in front of a record-setting 90,000+ Los Angeles crowd, where the USA won 5-4 on penalty kicks against the People’s Republic of China. Nowerdays FIFA helds 3 Womens World Cup Tournaments: U17, the U20 and the Womens World Cup. Current world champion is Germany.